Co-op Board of Directors


 

Over the past 50 years, New Pioneer has called the Corridor home.

In 1971, a small group of Iowa Citians formed a buying club to pool their purchasing power and split bags of rice, grains, and flour. The American food chain was becoming more processed, and this response gave shoppers in Iowa City another option. Co-op volunteers met and distributed food out of a community center until they were able to move to our first store on Bowery Street in Iowa City and hire our first full-time team members.

50 years later, New Pioneer employs nearly 130 team members, has three stores, and sells groceries through an online store-- something our founders could have never imagined.

Read More

Board President Jon Fogarty and General Manager Matt Hartz reflect on our co-op history.


  

  


Your Co-op Board

  

Jon Fogarty, Co-op Board Member

   
Jon Fogarty, President

Co-op Member since 1995
Board Term thru 2022

jon@newpi.coop   |   (319) 400-4911

dana-judas_board.jpg

Dana Judas, Vice President

Board Term thru 2024

dana@newpi.coop


Kelli Kennon-Lane, Co-op Board


Ramji Balakrishnan, Treasurer

Co-op Member since 2001
Board Term thru 2024

ramji@newpi.coop   |   (319) 466-0261

Wannette Doerfield, Co-op Board

 
Christine Newlin, Secretary

Co-op Member since 2005
Board Term thru 2023

christine@newpi.coop



Jennifer Murphy

Co-op Member since 2013
Board Term thru 2023

jennifer@newpi.coop


Tom Banta

Co-op Member since 2021
Board Term thru 2024

tom@newpi.coop



Katy Brown

Board Term thru 2024

katy@newpi.coop